Second weight-loss goal reached!

September 13, 2013

weight_184So after stumbling in August and gaining weight month-over-month for the first time in 12 months, I righted the ship toward the end of August, and for my official September weigh-in I registered 184 pounds.  This was my second major weight-loss goal since I began (the first being 209 pounds), and means that I’ve officially lost 100 pounds from my all-time heaviest!!

Also as a related sidenote, when filling out a health assessment recently I realized that I passed another kind of cool milestone:  at 5’6″ and 184 pounds, my BMI is now 29.7, which means that for the first time in many, many years (I’d guess at LEAST 10, probably more), I am now officially only “overweight” and no longer “obese”.  Granted, I’m right at the top of the “obese” range – and I already know I still have a lot of progress yet ahead of me – but to see that change in category is a pretty cool thing.

Now I finally begin formally navigating to my THIRD major weight-loss goal – 174 pounds.  Ten down from current.  My goal is to reach this by Thanksgiving.  And I still wonder at what body weight I will feel fairly “normal” and no longer feel overweight or at least no longer feel fat.  I’m guessing at least 167 lbs, maybe lower.  This is actually exciting to me rather than daunting or discouraging – it means I do in fact have a lot of improvement still ahead of me, and I’m going to achieve it!

To health!

Leave a Reply

