This is my line in the sand.

August 30, 2013

A text from my friend BM last night was right on the money:  Draw a line in the sand.  Poor eating habits have been a trend the last few weeks and some progress has been lost.  I’ve put back on between 4-5 lbs from my best levels; I’ve certainly lost fitness on the bike with not riding and with eating crap; I can feel the loss of some muscular strength when in the gym; and the most dangerous aspect, because hardest to overcome, is the mental.  It’s easy to get depressed and disappointed and feel defeated when in a slide, even a mini-slide.

What’s needed is to draw the line in the sand.  The past is the past; it can’t be changed and there’s really no value in regretting any of it.  Learn from it, determine what you want, and move on.  That’s what I am doing.

I drew my line in the sand yesterday.  I’m moving forward.

Fitness-wise, I would separate my adult life (since starting to lose weight about 4 years ago) into three eras:

  • The era from 284 pounds, where I started, to 209 pounds, which was my initial goal.
  • The era where I FINALLY broke through the 209-pound plateau where I’d stayed for a number of months, and continued rapid progress to the next goal of 184. This era contained both progress and regression, and ended yesterday.
  • The next era, starting with my line in the sand.  From this point I intend to lose ballpark 20 pounds – maybe a bit more, a bit less – achieve a much better physique and better overall health – and improve my cardio to levels I’ve not yet reached.

Specifically cycling-wise, I would separate my adult life into four eras:

  • The era from starting to ride – where even 3-5 miles was a decent accomplishment and I VERY rarely rode more than 10 miles – and ending with the accomplishment of my first major cycling goal, the 2-day Prairie Spirit Trail “tour” to Iola and back.
  • The era starting with that ride and ending with my first successful RUSA ride in May of this year.
  • The (short) era starting with that ride, including several more rando rides (and a spectacular meltdown of burnout from the bike), including my first RAGBRAI; and ending yesterday.
  • The next era, starting with my line in the sand.  From this point I intend to go on to accomplish much in the world of randonneuring as well as various other non-rando cycling goals.

Yesterday was my line in the sand.

Leave a Reply

