The enemy.

August 9, 2012

No, hills are not the enemy.  The enemy is obesity, and being out of shape. Hills, deceptively packaged as adversaries, are in fact allies to further you on the journey; to equip you for the battle.

These were the thoughts I repeated to myself as I pushed into the incline.  Breathing quickening, deepening.  Legs grinding.  Muscles burning. The struggle.  The reward.

As I’ve said before, one day I will roll hills like this – and more difficult ones – up.  For today, it is hard work for me.  But it is putting in that work which will allow me to one day roll hills like this up.  No pain!!!

Leave a Reply

