My First 5K

April 14, 2012

Participated in my first-ever 5k today – the KC-area Rock the Parkway.  I only walked, not ran – I’m not yet at a fitness level to run a full 5k.  Walked with a friend for the enjoyment and experience of the thing, versus trying to compete.

This was an absolute blast – couldn’t have been a cooler experience for my first 5k, just like my “mentor” Linda B said it would be.

I’m planning to participate in more of these 5k’s this year, mixing in some jogging – with a modest jogging/walking ratio to start but increasing with time.

As mentioned in this post, this blog is about cycling, and cycling remains both my focus and the site’s focus; but for me, riding the bike, eating healthier, walking/jogging, getting into better shape, are all different facets of the same thing, and accordingly I’ll use this single location to update progress in that entire area.

Leave a Reply

