Hi, My Name is Bill, and I’m an Addict.

April 4, 2012

This is a blog created to chronicle my adventures with the bike, so I don’t want to broaden the scope of it.  That being said, for me riding the bike and losing weight/getting into shape are intertwined and inseparable.  As I describe on my About page, riding the bike was a critical piece of the puzzle I put into place in order to lose weight.

Accordingly, I’ll allow myself a very brief detour from the primary subject matter.


I’ve come to face the facts in recent days that I am literally addicted to sugar.  Sugar is such a sinister thing; it is terrible for you in so many ways, and in the American diet, it is ubiquitous.  I’ve come to recognize that I am addicted to sugar; and so, like e.g. an alcoholic, I have kicked the habit cold turkey.  Also like an alcoholic, I recognize that I’ll always be a “recovering” sugar addict, never “recovered”.  I know only too well from past experience how easy it is to relapse, and how powerful the temptation can be.

When I speak of “kicking the sugar habit”, I obviously don’t mean zero sugar.  In the American diet, that’s all but impossible.  There’s sugar in nearly everything.  But what I do mean is (a) choosing my food wisely to minimize sugar, and (b) completely avoiding egregious sugary snacks or desserts.  The latter has been my downfall for much of my life, and it is not easy to walk away from it.  But, I realize that it’s for the best, and I have adapted several tools for success along my journeys of trial & error. I’m bringing to bear everything I can to increase my likelihood of success.

I’m currently on day 11 of “sobriety” from sugar.  It’s been challenging but it gets easier with time (for the most part – some days are difficult).  March 25 was the day I “sobered up”, so to speak.  I’m looking forward to celebrating March 25, 2013, as a one-year anniversary of my “sobriety”.

Here’s to health, to longevity, to fitness.

Leave a Reply

